IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
Men's Pool A
IIHF Men's World Hockey Championships
World Championships Artifact
World Championships Photo Tampere, the second largest city in Finland, became the first city from that country to host the championship. National teams played in the beautiful Gaahalli Ice Palace, Finland's first artificial rink. Because the close competition in recent years had created situations whereby medal distribution depended only on how many goals had been scored, a new tie-breaking procedure was introduced. It was decided that if two teams had an equal number of points, priority would be given to the winner of the game between the two. Only if two medal contenders played a tie game, or if there were more than two contenders would goal differential come into play. If goal differential was employed, the only games that would be counted would be those involving the "Big Quartet," as the teams from the USSR, Czechoslovakia, Sweden, and Canada had begun to be known. This eliminated any advantage from running up lopsided scores against weak opponents. Complex arithmetic was not required to crown a World Champion in 1965. The Soviet Union did not lose a single game and became the first European team to win the World Championship three years in a row. As a result, the Soviets were permitted to keep the World Championship Cup. The USSR defeated silver medalist Czechoslovakia 3-1 in the key match. The bronze went to Sweden, while Father David Bauer's Canadian national team finished fourth after losing to the three medalists by a total score of 18-5. Vyacheslav Starshinov, the gritty centre from the Spartak club, starred for the Soviets, while goaltender Vladimir Dzurilla and defenceman Frantisek Tikal of Czechoslovakia also had outstanding tournaments.
1965 Tampere Summary
Click on a team below to see its roster and stats.
Rank Country Games Wins Losses Ties Points GDF GF GA
1 USSR 7 7 0 0 14      
2 Czechoslovakia 7 6 1 0 12      
3 Sweden 7 4 2 1 9      
4 Canada 7 4 3 0 8      
5 East Germany 7 3 4 0 6      
6 USA 7 2 5 0 4      
7 Finland 7 1 5 1 3      
8 Norway 8 1 7 0 2      
N/R Switzerland 3 1 2 0 2      
N/R West Germany 4 2 2 0 4      

Games Chronology
Statistical Leaders
Back to Games List