IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
IIHF Honour Roll
Miroslav Subrt

Born on July 26, 1926 in Vlci u Loun, Czechoslovakia. He was a co-founder of HC Svezda Praha, and went on to become president of the club for 22 years. In 1953 he was nominated as a member of the International Committee of Czechoslovak Ice Hockey Association, moving up to become its board member three years later and finally its president.

Since 1957, Miro Subrt has been a directorate member at the IIHF World Championship and Olympic Ice Hockey Tournaments. He was a chairman of the 1959 IIHF World Championship Organizing Committee and was elected that same year to the IIHF Council before becoming an IIHF Vice President in 1966 until 2003, a term which makes him as the longest serving high ranked official in hockey.

Aside from working every IIHF Congress since 1956, Subrt has presided as an IIHF Tournament Chairman in over 70 events, chaired numerous IIHF Committees, not to mention taking part in 12 Winter Olympics. Subrt is chiefly responsible for instituting the first IIHF statistical system and made valuable contributions to develop the IIHF Sport Regulations, By-laws and Statutes.

For his contribution to sports in general, and to the game of ice hockey in particular, Miro Subrt was awarded with the Olympic Order during the 2002 Olympic Winter Games.

Back to Honour Roll

Laurel Leaf