IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
Mongolian Flag
Mongolian Ice Hockey Federation
Mongolian Federation Logo

  • Incorporated  Nov. 30,1991
  • Joined the IIHF  May 15, 1999
  • 1,001  registered players
  • 8  registered clubs
  • President:  Sumiya Ganjargal
National Teams

Hockey in Mongolia
Ice hockey can be traced back to 1960, when Soviet Union nationals, who were working abroad introduced the game here. Outdoor facilities were in place in the more populus cities such as Darkan, Baganuur, Bor-Under and Khotol. It is reported that in 1983, a Mongolian Ice Hockey team participated in a tournament hosted by China that featured 15 teams. Established in 1991, the Mongolian Ice Hockey Federation governed various tournaments such as the State and Ulaanbaatar Championships, Teenage Championship and the Federation Cup until 1997. By 1998, there were 6 domestic and 2 International tournaments held in Mogolia. The 4th Asian Winter Games in 1999 marked the first official time the Mongolian national team participated on the international stage, and finished the event in fifth place. Currently, Mongolia lists 8 club teams including five time national champion Eermel.

Back to List of Countries