IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
The Luxembourg Flag
Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Hockey sur Glace
The Luxembourg Federation Logo

  • Incorporated  1912
  • Joined the IIHF  Mar. 23, 1912
  • 392  registered players
  • 4  registered clubs
  • President:  Rene Ludovicy
National Teams

Hockey in Luxembourg
The Federation Luxembourgeoise de Hockey sur Glace (Luxembourg Ice Hockey Federation) is one of the oldest in Europe, having been formed in 1912. Luxembourg joined the International Ice Hockey Federation on March 23, 1912, however the popularity of hockey in the country grew slowly. Luxembourg did not hold its first national championship until 1978. Only two hockey teams existed in the country at that time and Hiversport Luxembourg defeated Beaufort Echternach for the championship. In 1984, financial difficulties forced the two teams to merge into one new club called HC Luxembourg. The EC Eversborg team formed around this time but poor relations between it and HC Luxembourg prevented matches from being played on a regular basis. Instead the HC Luxembourg team played exhibition games against teams from West Germany, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Switzerland, and Canada. The team also participated in the European Champions Cup tournament. All home games for HC Luxembourg took place at either the indoor arena of Luxembourg-Stadt or the outdoor rink in Echternach. In 1986-87, the club changed its name to Tornado and played in the Rheinland-Pfalz regional league in West Germany.

Luxembourg's National Team appeared first on the international scene at the "C" Pool, Group 2 World Championships in 1992. The team lost its first game to South Africa 23-0 on March 21 in Johannesburg. In 1998, Luxembourg iced a National Junior Team at the "D" Pool European Junior Championships.

Back to List of Countries