IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
North Korean Flag
North Korea
Ice Hockey Association of the DPR of Korea
North Korean Federation Logo

  • Incorporated  1955
  • Joined the IIHF  Aug. 8, 1963
  • 1,130  registered players
  • 30  registered clubs
  • President:  Pak Song Nam
National Teams
Star Players

Hockey in North Korea
Ice hockey in the People's Democratic Republic of Korea (North Korea) became popular during the 1950s when Soviet and Chinese workers taught the game and its rules in the capital city of Pyongyang. The Ice Hockey Association of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea was founded in 1955. North Korea became a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation on August 8, 1964.

The North Korean National Team did not make its debut until 1974 when it competed in the "C" Pool World Championships. The team lost its first official game to Italy 11-2 on March 8, 1974, but rebounded by defeating China and Australia. North Korea did not re-appear at the "C" Pool competition until the 1980's. Their best showing was a fifth place finish at the 1990 "C" Pool tournament in Budapest.

North Korea's first national championship was held in 1956 and was won by Amnokang Pyongyang. Approximately 30 clubs existed in the country by the mid-1980's with the top eight competing for the national title. Pyongyang had the only regulation ice surface as well as all the teams. The most successful clubs of the past few years were Amnokang. April 25th and Pyonyang.

Back to List of Countries