IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
Swiss Flag
Hockey in Switzerland
Swiss Collage
In 1997-98 Nationalliga A consisted of 11 teams playing a quadruple round-robin schedule. The top eight advanced to the playoffs during which all rounds were played in a best-of-seven format. The Nationalliga B featured 12 teams split into East and West Conferences. A double round-robin schedule was played to determine the top three teams in each conference who would advance to another double round-robin series. Meanwhile, the lower three teams in each conference played their own double round-robin and the top two teams from this group joined the six best clubs in the league playoffs played in a best-of-five format. Each year the winner of the Nationalliga B playoffs is promoted to Nationalliga A.

Lower levels of Swiss hockey include the 1 Liga (with three groups containing 36 teams), the 2 Liga (with six groups containing 57 teams) and the 3 Liga (with 12 groups containing 99 teams). The top juniors in Switzerland play in the Elite A League, which has eight teams. There is also an Elite B League with eight teams each in the East and West Division.

Back to Country Information
Back to List of Countries