IZone MenuBar
IIHF Home About the IIHF IIHF Honor Roll Member Countries World Championships Tournaments Olympic Winter Games Pro Classics
Slovakian Flag
Hockey in Slovakia
Slovakian Collage
In 1997-98, the Slovak Extraleague was made up of 10 teams playing a quadruple round-robin series. At the completion of the regular schedule, the top six clubs play a double round-robin after which the top four teams qualify for the playoffs which are played in a best-of-five format. The fifth and sixth place clubs play their own best-of-three series. The clubs that finished from seventh to tenth in the Extraleague play a double-round robin promotion/relegation pool with the top four clubs from the First League. The four top teams from this series are promoted to the Slovak Extraleague.

Now placed below the Extraleague, Slovakia?s First League has existed since 1963 as a part of the Czechoslovakian League under the name of the Slovak National Hockey League. It comprises 12 clubs playing a quadruple round-robin schedule. The Second League is divided into three divisions - East (6 teams), West (5 teams) and Central (4 teams). Two sets of junior leagues, divided by age, consist of 16 teams each.

Back to Country Information
Back to List of Countries