William M. Jennings TrophyTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
William M. Jennings Trophy Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Brodeur, Martin
Cechmanek, Roman
Esche, Robert

Philadelphia Flyers

For the first time since the William Jennings Trophy was instituted by the NHL in 1982, two teams tied for the lowest goals-against average. The New Jersey Devils and the Philadelphia Flyers both sported a team goals-against average of 1.66, allowing a mere 166 goals during the course of the 82 game regular season. Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils earns his third Jennings Trophy and first since 1998 while sporting a personal goals-against average of 2.02. Brodeur's record of 41-23-9, including nine shutouts led the Devils to the Atlantic Division title en route to the Stanley Cup championship. Both Roman Cechmanek and Robert Esche earned their first Jennings Trophy following the 2002-03 season and became the first Flyers netminders to capture the award since Bob Froese and Darren Jensen in 1985-86. Cechmanek finished the season with a 33-15-10 record and six shutouts, as well as the NHL's second best goals-against average of 1.83. Esche completed his career-best NHL season with a record of 12-9-3 and two shutouts, including a 2.20 goals-against average. The Dallas Stars finished third with 169 goals against.

Brodeur, Martin, Cechmanek, Roman & Esche, Robert