Vezina TrophyTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Vezina Trophy Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Herron, Denis
Larocque, Michel
Sevigny, Richard

Montreal Canadiens

In a precedent setting season, three goaltenders captured the VEZINA TROPHY during the 1980-81 season, while one netminder, MICHEL LAROCQUE, was traded mid-way through the year to the Toronto Maple Leafs. Both situations were firsts in NHL history and led to the creation of the William M. Jennings Trophy. This new award would go to the goaltender(s) for the team with the fewest goals scored against it. This led to a change in criteria for winning the VEZINA TROPHY- it now would be presented to the best goaltender as voted by the league's General Managers. The Montreal Canadiens, led by three different netminders, captured the VEZINA TROPHY for the fifth time in six seasons and the 24th time in NHL history. The trio combined for a goals-against average of 2.90, the highest winning average in trophy history. RICHARD SEVIGNY led the way by posting the NHL's top goals-against average of 2.40, along with a league high nine-game winning streak. Along with DENIS HERRON (6-9-6 record, 1 shutout) and MICHEL LAROCQUE (16-9-3 record, 1 shutout - prior to his trade), SEVIGNY and the Canadiens marched to a 24-game home undefeated streak. LAROCQUE was honoured with his name on the VEZINA TROPHY for the fourth time in his career, all with Montreal. The Philadelphia tandem of Pete Peeters and Rick St. Croix placed second.

Herron, Denis, Larocque, Michel & Sevigny, Richard