Vezina TrophyTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Vezina Trophy Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Dryden, Ken
Larocque, Michel

Montreal Canadiens

The Montreal Canadiens dominated the NHL finishing first overall before capturing their second consecutive Stanley Cup title. KEN DRYDEN and MICHEL LAROCQUE combined to allow only 171 goals against, 22 fewer than the New York Islanders. The Habs set NHL records for points (132), wins (60), and undefeated home streak (34 games). DRYDEN was named a First Team All-Star to go with his third VEZINA TROPHY and finished first with 41 wins and 10 shutouts, the most since Gerry McNeil in 1953. The combined total with LAROCQUE of 14 shutouts was the most by a Habs club since 1929. LAROCQUE would lose only two games all year and record a league-best 2.09 goals-against average. The Islanders' duo of Glenn Resch and Billy Smith finished as VEZINA runners-up.

Dryden, Ken & Larocque, Michel