Vezina TrophyTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Vezina Trophy Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Vachon, Rogatien
Worsley, Gump

Montreal Canadiens

Despite not leading the goals-against race in either the first or second half of the season, LORNE WORSLEY and ROGATIEN VACHON led the Montreal Canadiens to the club's 19th VEZINA TROPHY after allowing only 167 goals during the season. The Habs stingy defence led to a first overall finish in the regular season, that included undefeated streaks of 20 games at home and 16 games overall. WORSLEY, the First Team All-Star netminder, captured his second VEZINA with a record of 19-9-8, six shutouts and an NHL-best 1.98 goals-against average. VACHON would actually win more games with a record of 23-13-2, but posted only four shutouts and a slightly higher goals-against average at 2.48. Toronto's Johnny Bower and Bruce Gamble combined to place second in the VEZINA race.

Vachon, Rogatien & Worsley, Gump