Stanley CupTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Stanley Cup Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Detroit Red Wings

After winning their sixth franchise Presidents' Trophy, the Detroit Red Wings fought through four rounds of the NHL playoffs en route to their fourth Stanley Cup in 11 years. In the first round of the playoffs, Red Wings' netminder Dominik Hasek showed signs of fatigue against the Nashville Predators. He was quickly replaced by fan favourite Chris Osgood who seized the starting role and never looked back. After battling past the Predators, the Red Wings humiliated the Colorado Avalanche and returned to the Western Conference Final. The Red Wings drew the Dallas Stars in the Conference Final and surprised the league by winning the first three games. However, the Stars won back to back games and took the series to game six. After knocking off the Stars 4-1 in game six, the Red Wings returned to the Stanley Cup Final to face the star-studded Pittsburgh Penguins. Despite having some of the games best young offensive stars, the Penguins were shut-out by the Red Wings in the first two games of the Stanley Cup Final. The Pens rebounded at home and managed to take the next two of three games in the series, including a game five triple overtime Penguin victory. On June 4th the series returned to Pittsburgh where the Red Wings won the game 3-2 and captured yet another Stanley Cup. Henrik Zetterberg won the Conn Smythe and Detroit's Nicklas Lidstrom became the first European-trained captain to hoist the Stanley Cup.

Detroit Red Wings
Click here to view larger image.