Stanley CupTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Stanley Cup Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Montreal Canadiens

It took an NHL record 10 overtime wins but the Montreal Canadiens prevailed winning their 24th Stanley Cup. This win gave the city of Montreal a Stanley Cup in every decade going back to the late 19th Century when the Cup was first awarded. Goaltender Patrick Roy became the fifth player in NHL history to capture the Conn Smythe Trophy, also having won it in 1986. He played very well losing but four games over four series. After defeating Quebec, Buffalo, and the New York Islanders, Montreal came up against Wayne Gretzky and the Los Angeles Kings. Hockey was hitting a feverish pitch in the west and Gretzky, as in the past, was the playoff scoring leader. Los Angeles opened the series with a 4-1 win at the Montreal Forum. But the Canadiens bounced back winning three straight overtime games and then taking home the Stanley Cup with a 4-1 win of their own at home. This would be the last Stanley Cup appearance for Wayne Gretzky.

Montreal Canadiens
Click here to view larger image.