Stanley CupTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Stanley Cup Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
New York Rangers

The Boston Bruins finished first for a second consecutive season, with their famous Kraut Line finishing first, second and third in scoring, while Bill Cowley finished fifth. The Bruins met the second place New York Rangers to decide who would get the bye into the Stanley Cup finals. But the Rangers overcame an injured Bruins line-up, and took the series four games to two. Meanwhile, Chicago faced Toronto in a qualifying round. The Black Hawks flew into Toronto for the first game, one of the first times a team had flown to participate in a game. But the Leafs won the best of three in two games to advance. In the other qualifying round, Detroit beat the New York Americans two games to one to earn the right to battle the Leafs for the opportunity to play in the Stanley Cup final. Toronto beat Detroit in two straight games. That set the stage for a Cup final between the Rangers and the Maple Leafs. Toronto agreed to play the first two games on consecutive nights in New York, as Madison Square Garden was booked for the circus shortly thereafter. In fact, after the second game, the boards were being removed as the players showered, and the remaining games were played in Toronto. New York went on to win the series in six games, including three in overtime, to earn the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1932-33. The Rangers' Bryan Hextall led all players with four goals in the finals.

New York Rangers
Click here to view larger image.