Stanley CupTissot - Swiss watches since 1853
Trophy Tours
NHL Trophies
Stanley Cup Winner
NHL TrophiesNon-NHL TrophiesHistoric Trophies
Detroit Red Wings

The Detroit Red Wings finished first in the American Division for a second straight season, while the Montreal Canadiens took the Canadian Division. The two fine teams met to decide who would win the opportunity to go to the Stanley Cup final. The best of five series went to the wire, but a goal by Hec Kilrea in overtime in the fifth game gave the Red Wings the bye to the Stanley Cup final. Elsewhere, The Maroons beat the Boston Bruins two games to one, and the Rangers eliminated Toronto with two straight wins. The Maroons then faced the Rangers, but New York won two straight to move into the final versus Detroit. The Rangers played their first game at home, but were forced to abandon any further games at Madison Square Garden because the circus was rolling into New York. New York won the first game at home, but the remaining games were all played in Detroit at the Olympia. Detroit accomplished their season's goal, winning the best of five series three games to two. The Red Wings' rookie goaltender, Earl Robertson, earned two shutouts to help the Wings win the series. He would never play a regular season game for Detroit, as he was traded to the New York Americans after the playoffs. Detroit captured their second consecutive Stanley Cup with this victory.

Detroit Red Wings
Click here to view larger image.